"I am the L-rd, your G‑d"

—Exodus 20:2


The very first mitzvah is to believe in G‑d—a primal entity that is the cause and origin of all that exists.



"You shall have no other gods besides Me"

—Exodus 20:3


The very first prohibition is against ascribing G‑dly powers to any entity other than G‑d.



In its primary meaning, the Hebrew word mitzvah (/ˈmɪtsvə/, meaning "commandment", מצוה, [mit͡sˈva], Biblical: miṣwah; plural מצוות mitzvot [mit͡sˈvot], Biblical: miṣwoth; from צוה ṣiwwah "command") refers to precepts and commandments commanded by G-d, with the additional connotation of one's religious duty. It is used in rabbinical Judaism to refer to the 613 commandments given in the Torah at biblical Mount Sinai and the seven rabbinic commandments instituted later for a total of 620. The 613 commandments are divided into two categories: 365 negative commandments and 248 positive commandments. According to the Talmud, all moral laws are or are derived from, divine commandments. The collection is part of the larger Jewish law or Halakha.

Hebrew Synagogue is seen as an advisory body on matters pertaining to Jewish religious practice and is widely consulted by many agencies. Members of the public are welcome to contact our office with any queries.

Subscribe for Updates
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • LinkedIn

© 2019-2021 by Hebrew Synagogue

Registered in Scotland, No. SC652869

Group VAT GB342503923

Support Sefaria